White House Black Market Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At White House Black Market
Shop Jackets & Outerwear or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for White House Black Market Black Velvet Jacket

White House Black Market Black Velvet Jacket

Black velvet with all the trimmings. Ruffled satin charmeuse edging, passementerie trim, grosgrain ribbon and decorative buttons give this nipped-waist jacket distinction. Princess-seamed fit. Hook/eye front closures. Stand collar and flap pockets. Ornamental buttons decorate the front and back belt detail. Working buttons on pockets and cuffs. 72% Cotton, 26% Rayon, 2% Spandex. Machine wash. Imported. Length: 23" from shoulder in front; 21.5" in back.
Overall rating:
4.628 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
40 out of 41(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Black Velvet Jacket
Review 1 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
small
a little too large
large
Customer avatarBluerose
Age:In my 30s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Occasionally
State:Florida
Yes, I recommend this product.

Nicely Tailored

PostedJuly 20, 2014
I do love this jacket, except that the sleeves run a bit too long. The grey version of this jacket was designed a bit different and is also an excellent choice and very well tailored. I really wish that the grey jacket came in black because I did prefer the design of the grey jacket. I do hope that White House Black Market will return the design of the grey jacket but in black please.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
small
a little too large
large
Customer avatarTweetylinn
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Texas
City: Katy or Houston
Yes, I recommend this product.

Pretty jacket but sleeves too long

PostedJune 7, 2014
I like the style of the jacket but felt this jacket is bigger than the normal WHBM jackets I usually order. It wasn't darling enough for me to keep. Returned it. WHBM is having more options in petite but I would like to see in ALL apparel by them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
small
true to size
large
Customer avatarThina
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Texas
City: Euless
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great with jeans

PostedApril 5, 2014
This jacket looks great with my "jean look" and looks great with black and blue jeans. Most velvet jackets look boxy and do nothing for my figure. This one gathers in at the waist. I pair it with the jeweled black tee that the model is wearing it with on the website. Perfect! I also have the gray velvet jacket and absolutely love it too. Don't miss out on this great purchase. You won't regret it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCyndi4106
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Long and Lean
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Michigan
City: South Lyon
Yes, I recommend this product.

Versatile jacket

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Gorgeous jacket that goes with your favorite skirt or your classic jeans.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
small
a little too small
large
Customer avatarjoyfull
Age:In my 50s
Body Type:Long and Lean
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Oregon
City: Bend
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful Jacket

PostedMarch 7, 2014
This is a very nice Jacket. It runs a size smaller than my usual size. I usually buy a 4, but had to get this in a 6. It feels so good on. Looks great with a back t-shirt under it with jeans and heels. My very favorite jacket.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
small
a little too small
large
Customer avatarChevy
Age:In my 30s
Body Type:Long and Lean
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:California
City: Long Beach
Yes, I recommend this product.

I Love it!

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
I was looking for a replacement jacket for my velvet everyday work jacket and I found this. Although I don't wear this with all my work wear, I just love the way it fits and the tailoring. I wish I would have purchased a size 4 but I couldn't find it so I the size 2 will do it fits a little too perfect but it's worth it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLilyFlower
Age:In my 30s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Colorado
City: Colorado Springs
Yes, I recommend this product.

STUNNING, ELEGANT AND TIMELESS

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
This jacket is just PERFECT! I love the velvet feel and all the details, the front buttons give it a sophisticated vintage look which I love since I'm a big fan of shows like Downton Abbey and Mr. Selfridge, you see the ladies in both shows in similar styles but of course our WHBM jacket is a bit more tailored. Can dress it up with a dress or skirt or down with a pair of nice jeans.
I ordered the 00 and it fits like a dream.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMaribari
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Occasionally
State:Arizona
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful jacket!

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
I have wanted this jacket for sometime now. Found it on sale in store last jacket was my size and fits perfect. This is perfect to dress up with the WHBM halter tops for girls night out or date night. Love it and will have it for years to come.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRunalong
Age:In my 50s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Connecticut
City: West Hartford
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Love this jacket! Well made and overall fits really well. Sleeves too long for me so wish they had it in petite. Looks really nice dressing up jeans but is a great dress up piece for anthing else too!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
small
a little too small
large
Customer avatarSidmac
Age:In my 30s
Body Type:Long and Lean
Shopping Frequency:Occasionally
State:Illinois
City: Chicagoland area
Yes, I recommend this product.

Little too snug

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Loved the jacket however it was a little too snug around the shoulder area. I was bummed and ended up returning it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
small
true to size
large
Customer avatarMo2515
Age:In my 30s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Delaware
City: Wilmington
Yes, I recommend this product.

Sexy with class!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Can't wait to wear this eye catching jacket! Waiting for the right occasion.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
small
a little too small
large
Customer avatarKatyaShopper
Age:In my 20s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Texas
City: Houston
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful jacket

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
This is a beautifully constructed high quality jacket with a very flattering cut. I am usually between 00 and 0 in WHBH jackets, and this one definitely runs a little bit small, 00 was just a little too tight. Unfortunately, by the time I ordered size 0 was gone, but I'm keeping it anyway, just have to wear unbuttoned which is still gorgeous. HIghly recommend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarJean C.
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Pennsylvania
Yes, I recommend this product.

Cute jacket! Just not for me...

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
This jacket is super cute, and the cut is flattering. I expected to love it, and though I liked it very much, I kept wanting it to be longer in the back when trying it on with various camis/blouses/shells after it arrived in the mail. I almost kept it, but in the end, I decided I didn't LOVE it. And for the price, even on sale, I felt I had to love it in order to keep it. I'm sure it looks great on some, but for me, the short back didn't work. Plus, the sleeves were a little long on me, and I knew that would bug me. So, I returned it, but do recommend it to others if the factors I mentioned wouldn't be an issue for you. It is very soft and feels great on!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCleo2003
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:California
City: Los Gatos
Yes, I recommend this product.

Sharp looking jacket for work or going out

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
I wasn't sure if I would like this jacket but when I tried it on with the black flared jeans, I feel in love with this jacket! It really dressed up the complete outfit. It pretty much fit true to size but maybe a slightly bit small. I usually wear a size 6 or 8 in WHBM jackets and purchased a size 8 in this jacket. I am 5ft, 5", 135lbs, 34DDD to help with sizing.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCHAREECE4993
Age:In my 30s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Georgia
City: Atlanta

A Must Buy

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
I purchased this jacket to go with a pair of black velvet pants I bought a month ago. Who would have ever thought the two would have paired as nicely as they did. This is by far one of my favorite pieces that I have added to my clothing collection.
The fabric of the jacket is not heavy and can be worn with a nice red or beige top. I've even worn it with a pair of blue jeans from White House Black Market.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
small
true to size
large
Customer avatarLBEC1213
Age:In my 30s
Body Type:Long and Lean
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:New York
City: Long Island
Yes, I recommend this product.

CLASSIC AND CHIC

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
LOVE this blazer, it is even prettier in person than it is in the picture. Can be dressed up and worn over a sheath dress or be more casual worn with jeans and boots. Like most WHBM clothes, I find it runs a little small (especially if you are tall and/or have long arms like I do) so I would order one size up. The embellishments really give it a chic, slightly edgy style.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
small
a little too small
large
Customer avatarccmax
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Occasionally
State:Michigan
Yes, I recommend this product.

Really Nice

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
This jacket is great. Very nicely made. You can dress up or wear with jeans is how I wore. Loved its a little on the short side . I'm normally an xs or a 0-2 but I ordered the 4 and was perfect.I'm 5'4 120. So excited I got on sale too .
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarsliv
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:California
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love this flattering, stylish jacket!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
This is a great find! Very flattering cut when worn open or closed. I've worn it open with flared jeans and a bright colored cami and got lots of compliments. Also looks fab with a bustier underneath. Jacket looks very flattering closed, too. I am a 0 and wear either a 0 or 00 in jackets at WHBM depending on the cut (32D, 5'5" 115#) and the 0 was perfect when closed.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarTammie
Age:In my 50s
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Occasionally
State:Texas
City: C.
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Love, love, love this jacket. I bought it to pair with the black velvet paints and the embroidered jean. As all others have stated you can dress it up or down and it looks and feels fantastic. Very well made! I'm glad I bought it at full price,but with discount before it went in the sales item category as they did not have in my size by then. Get it before it's gone you will be glad you did!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Black Velvet Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMaryellenP
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Pennsylvania
City: Pittsburgh, PA
Yes, I recommend this product.

Versatile

PostedDecember 1, 2013
What a lovely jacket! I bought it to wear over a red satin dress for a Christmas wedding. I also plan to wear it with silver pants to a New Year's Eve party. Come to think of it~~I'll probably wear it with jeans to a party next weekend! So many options! Sizing~~I'm 5"2', 115#, 34B and I bought the size 4.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>